top of page

The strength of the wolf is the pack

Updated: Aug 5, 2018

A very true statement for the birth of this hobby turned business, I have a very wonderful 'pack' who help support this adventure and in my life outside of this :)

The camera that started it all

First blog post!! Sat here, headphones on, music playing, kitties piled on my lap. They dislike the laptop taking up their real estate. This will not go live until the completion of this new website. But blogging about the beginning is probably really cool. I have been taking photos for many, many years. Of horses mostly. Back when I was a small child, I would 'play' with my dads old Minolta SLR. I had no clue how to use it, but the passion was there. I did take some nice shots with it, mostly when the world around the camera aligned with what ever settings it had. Some of these proudly hang on the walls of my parents house still. The rest are equally treasured. Every blurry, over or under exposed, one of them. Every. Single. One. My love of cameras and photography began. Because of the memories tied to them. The happy memories every time I look over them. Something that I do quite regularly. It was quite a natural progression to photograph horses the most. I had a horse from a quite young age also, so, as any horse mad young girl would do, I took pictures of him.


Lots of them.


It spread with the purchase of my first digital camera to include taking pictures of my friends horses too. This camera was not even a proper DSLR as such. It was a Canon Powershot S1. A few years after that, I was able to get my first proper DSLR, a Canon 60D. This I used for years, I could not tell you how many times it's shutter has fired. It is still here now. Much loved and semi retired. 18 months ago, I was surprised with a gift of a Canon 7D and some lenses thanks to a lot of very special people in my life. I was absolutely blown away. I still am everytime I use it. It is among my most treasured of possessions because of how it came to be. It is very special. It is special in a lot of other ways too, due to being a person with disabilities, or 'quirks' as I like to call them. (I will maybe share more of that part of life in another blog). But this camera, and all those special people. opened up my world again. Creatively speaking. And in ways of becoming more independent with a way of bringing in an income again. Giving me a job again :) One that is not at all phased by any quirk I may have.


I can be an artist again. The world is my canvas, and the camera is my paintbrush.


Which brings me back to why I started this blog post. I have been doing mostly digital file transfers with my photography. Most photos never leave the USB or computer. I am going a little old school. Prints will now make up the majority of my business. They will be the focus. The joy of looking over old photos, the ones that hang proudly as wall displays. These moments are precious, cherished forever. They should be right there, for you to view at a whim. To relive happy memories. To remember lost loved ones and milestones. As fine art to hang proudly in your home. This is why I am shaking things up a tad :)


Hopefully, I get better at blog posts as time goes on.


It is crazy to think that this all started with my Dad trusting me to play with his Minolta!



15 views0 comments

bottom of page